Skip to content

August 13, 2012

Originally posted on Deepwater Canyons:

It’s two days until the Nancy Foster departs port for the open sea, but I have been nervous for weeks now. I spent most of this weekend running around to malls and stores I rarely visit, looking for foul weather gear, notebooks, sunglasses, Dramamine and a laundry list of other things I think I might need to make this voyage a safe and productive one. The last time I left home for this long was over 10 years ago when I went to Africa to go diving in Lake Tanganyika. That two weeks away from home was a long time. Even there at the lake, it was possible to obtain things from South Africa given a few days notice.

I know that the Nancy Foster carries food for a full complement of crew for 18 days, makes its own freshwater, and has enough fuel to power the engines and still…

View original 384 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

